It’s the Little Things

Some days it’s harder than all get-out to expel enough energy physically and mentally to focus on writing. I get too much noise in my head; thinking and worrying about this, that and the other thing, the subject of which eludes me right now. *sigh* Now I have to think about what it was I was supposed to think about.

I combat on all the battles going on in my head by letting the little things ooze in. Like listening to the throaty rubberband call of the green frog and the low hrmmph of the bullfrog; when I have to drag myself out of bed at 2:30am to take Leika out, sometimes I’m treated to a sky littered with stars and a Barred owl calling from the deep misty marsh; when I have to dump the wheelbarrow behind the barn and fight off the blackflies at the same time, I discover a huge patch of tall purple phlox wildflowers has bloomed overnight; the lilac flowers are quickly dying, but the flowers remaining on the tips, still hang onto the scent I’m treated to only once a year.

Close your eyes, take a deep breath and let the little things in. It’ll get quiet.

About laurie salzler

novelist, outdoor enthusiast, animal lover, dog trainer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

