Tis the Season for Treats

…and do we have one in store for you! Georgia Beers and I have been working on this for several months. It’s just taken a while for us to get our acts together and publish a guest blog for you to enjoy. She was busy writing and publishing amazing books (her newest, Slices of Life was just released in October and Starting From Scratch is now available as an audio book!) and until a short time ago, I was in the process of moving the farm from New York State to Michigan, getting settled, having a new barn built and trying like mad to catch up on my own writing, which I’d sorely neglected all summer. *pant, pant* So now that we’ve both recovered somewhat, we’ve come up with some (hopefully) intriguing questions and answers. We tried to think of new subjects to chat about. You’ve probably already heard the beat-to-death question about panster vs. planner, among others. You may be happy to know we stayed away from those. I don’t know. I suppose if you really want to know the answer to that question, you can drop us a note.Georgia and Laurie in P-town

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Georgia…well, you really should get to know her. She is fun, extremely intelligent, warm, witty as hell, has a great partner, Bonnie (who we love to drink beer with), and two adorable dogs. …and you can do that by going to her website where she’ll tell you more than I can remember here. That’s also where you’ll find my answers to these same questions. (http://georgiabeers.wordpress.com)

So without further ado, here’s Georgia!

What is the best part of writing Lesfic for you? And which is the worst? Are they easiest and hardest as well? 

The best part is the reader base. We have the best readers on the planet. 99% of the time, they are sweet, kind, and gracious, even if they didn’t like your book. LOL. I don’t know that writers in other genres can say that. I’m not sure I have a “worst” for writing lesfic. There really isn’t anything I dislike about it. I think the easiest part of writing lesfic—for me—is simple: I know these people. You know what I mean? I like writing about lesbians because I am one. And I know lots. And they interest me, both in their similarities to me and their differences from me. The hardest part is trying to make sure they’re not the same lesbians over and over again from book to book.

Is it more difficult for you to write, or more difficult to edit?

It’s more difficult for me to write. I’ve been told more than once that I’m a pretty easy edit. Once I get past the panic of getting my edits back, and I see that the book I wrote is not, in fact, a steaming pile of dung, I can edit without too much problem. The actual writing of the novel takes much more effort from me and also causes more frustration and worry than the editing does.

What is your usual writing schedule?

It’s a little sporadic right now. I write best in the morning, but I am currently working a part-time job four mornings a week, so I’m not at my creative best. My job is babysitting, so it’s not terribly taxing, and I can and do have my laptop handy, but it’s not really conducive to writing. I do my best to sit down in the afternoon when I get home and get some writing done, and I’ve been more successful at it than I expected, but it’s not great. I have Thursdays off, so that’s my big writing day. Once I am done babysitting (at the end of this school year) and I have my days to concentrate solely on writing, my plan is to write in the morning, walk the dogs and have lunch, then use the afternoon for social media, publicity work, scheduling, etc. Care to wager on how well I will stick to this plan? No? Me neither.

How much of your real life ends up in your books?

Probably a lot more than I realize or intend! I often don’t notice until after the book has been published. I had a friend read a book of mine once and say, “You and I had this exact conversation.” And I was all, “We did?” I so didn’t use it on purpose; it was just in my head and ended up in the book. I would venture to say that almost all of my characters have little bits of me, of friends, of family. I think it’s inevitable.

If one of your characters was your best friend, who would it be?

Hmm. Good question. I want to say Elena from “Starting from Scratch,” but she’s way too hot, and I don’t think I could just be friends with her without wanting to sleep with her. Maybe Avery from “Starting from Scratch.” Or Natalie from “Finding Home.” Or Kylie from “Too Close to Touch.” This is a hard question!

Do you think having a long-term relationship makes it easier or harder to write about newfound love?

I think maybe it’s a little bit of both. I’ve been with Bonnie for more than eighteen years, but I can still remember how it felt to fall for her, to kiss her for the first time, to realize I wanted to spend the rest of my life with her, and I really enjoy writing a character that is experiencing all those things. At the same time, I know Bonnie really, really well, and it can be tough to remember that my characters are new to each other, and the truth is, not only are they unsure what their girlfriend is thinking, they have no clue because they don’t know her well enough yet. And new couples don’t often communicate well to one another. After nearly two decades, Bonnie and I are damn good at making our points. I forget that we didn’t always know how to do that, and I have to remember to make sure my characters don’t either.

What is one thing you would like your readers to know about you that they may not already be aware of?

If I can’t think of anything, does that mean I haven’t stayed mysterious enough?

If you weren’t a writer, what other creative outlet would you pursue?

I would be a film director. I see all my books as movies in my head, and when I’m working on a particular scene, I can see how I’d want it to play out onscreen, how it should look, how a line should sound, and I try to write it that way. I think I could be good at directing.

What do you read for fun?

Mostly suspense. I’m kind of embarrassed to say I read very little romance—though I am trying to change that. I have a stack of lesbian romances on my nightstand right now that I plan on plowing through…right after I finish the suspense novel I’m currently reading…

Georgia's Titles

About laurie salzler

novelist, outdoor enthusiast, animal lover, dog trainer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tis the Season for Treats

  1. Michel says:

    Well done! *clapping* 🙂

  2. This was a great read over my morning coffee! Thank you both for sharing! 😎

Leave a Reply

