It’s Not Just US.

 

Laurie in kayak-3119

I was inmy own little world, oblivious to what was happening in the far out reaches of humanity…..until I found out that someone I met on Facebook and have grown very fond of was shot. Twice. By a child in Afghanistan. Fortunately the wounds aren’t serious and she is expected to make a full recovery and continue her work in the military.

So while I were relaxing and having fun, she was on patrol, all senses on extreme alert. As I enjoyed my glass of cold beer, she rationed warm water from a canteen. I lounged in shorts, t-shirts and sandals. She wore a military uniform, helmet and army boots. I sat in air-conditioning. She sweated under a fierce desert sun. I reclined and read a book. She held her weapon at the ready with orders to carry it everywhere and sleep with one hand on it. She was separated from loved ones. I ate fresh corn-on-the-cob. No doubt she scooped a commercially prepared meal from a can.

I was only one of the millions who may have spent the weekend having fun and relaxing. At the same time, troops countless miles away worked to stay alert, stay safe, and stay alive. My friend who I fondly call Soldier Girl is one of them.

There are few days where we don’t hear of one of our own having been wounded or killed overseas. But let’s enlarge the picture here. There are several countries who have troops stationed in the Middle East other than the US: France, Italy, Canada, Australia, Poland, Romania, the UK, just to name a few. Each member of those troops, woman or man, is doing the exact same thing. Serving in their country’s military.

I’m not trying to make a political statement. Anybody who knows me, knows I avoid politics like plague. The point I am trying to make is this. True, each of those troops was sent to protect their country. But as a combined entity, aren’t their efforts protecting the world? I believe they are. And for that, I’d like to extend my most heartfelt and humble thank you to Soldier Girl and all the troops, whatever country’s uniform you wear. You’re in my thoughts every single day. Stay safe and watch your back. Bluebird-3752

About laurie salzler

novelist, outdoor enthusiast, animal lover, dog trainer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s Not Just US.

  1. I echo Barbara’s “amen” and would like to add a special thank-you to those civilians, like my brother, who serve at military bases and overseas to support our troops. He was in Afghanistan and readied Camp Leatherneck’s computers for the Marines.

    Thanks, Laurie, for the blog. And I’m glad you and Linda had a fantastic weekend! Phyllis and I need to do the same. 🙂

    Chris

  2. Barrett says:

    Nice post, Laurie.

  3. crowsheart says:

    spot on. You made me stop and think. Thanks for this.
    C.P.Rowlands

  4. Mary Perry says:

    Laurie, Thank you for remembering those who serve. My fellow past and present warriors are always in my prayers.

  5. lizcaruso says:

    Laurie, it’s so hard to have to leave an idyllic setting only to be brought back to the harsh realities of a war in a distant land. I am forever grateful for all those who protect us and keep us living in a time and place where we can step away from the news and have that time of peace!

Leave a Reply

