Out(and)Back

Geez… 5 months since my last blog. Life got in the way I guess. My sincere apologies for the long delay. I would like to extend a huge thank you to all who read my books. Your support and following are greatly appreciated.

In August,  Blue Feather Books closed its doors, thereby forcing all of its authors to find a new home for their writing. I was honored to have been offered contracts by Bedazzled Ink to re-release A Kiss Before Dawn, Right Out of Nowhere and Positive Lightning, which as of Dec. 29 is available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Kobo.

PL Cover The contract for In the Stillness of Dawn, the sequel to A Kiss Before Dawn has also been signed.

I began work on my fifth book, called After a Time, shortly before Christmas. Also, I’m pleased to tell you, I’ve begun work on a coffee table book of my photos.  One of my closest friends, Sheila Pearsons, is co-authoring it with me.

Black-winged Stilt a-8633

 

 

 

I welcomed 2015 in a way that is apparently quite common here… camping. My dogs and I headed into the Great Dividing Range, which is Australia’s most substantial mountain range, and the third longest land-based range in the world. I set up camp next to the Mann River. It’s a beautiful 148 mile river and is joined by four large tributaries before it reaches its confluence with the Clarence River, the same river that flows past where I live.

Gibraltar Mts, Mann River-3I set up housekeeping about twenty feet from the river so that the sound of the water was the first thing I heard in the morning and the last before I drifted off into a dreamless sleep.

Gibraltar Mts, Mann River-8816It was hot. Temps easily rose to nearly 100F if not over. So I spent a lot of the time just sitting in the river, letting the water flow around and cool me. With one hand around a cold beer and the other tossing rocks to splash and play with Leika and Kalie, we managed to stay quite comfortable.

 

 

Gibraltar Mts, Mann River-8813Gibraltar Mts, Mann River-2

 

 

 

 

 

There was plenty of bird and insect life, if one was inspired to look and listen. And of course I was. It didn’t take much effort to push the rest of the world away while in this little piece of paradise.

Little Friarbird

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The property is privately owned, which is the only way the pups could go with me. None of the national parks allow dogs. I’m very grateful to Leika for turning Kalie into a “birddog” because there were three distinct herds of cattle pastured on that huge expanse of land. Each has a very impressive, and thankfully docile Brahma bull. Of course I named them so I could keep track of the herds. Bully Boy, the largest and probably the eldest of the three decided to have a rest right next to my camp. Junior appreciated the shade of the bottle brush trees while Grey Bull waded in the river.

Junior

Junior

Grey Bull

Grey Bull

Bully Boy

Bully Boy

Gibraltar Mts, Mann River (cows)-9106The cows and calves were curious, as was I. (I love cows, can you tell?) All three herds regularly crossed the river in front of me and grazed nearby, so I was able to watch them for quite a while each day. One delighted me by walking up and touching my hand with her nose.Gibraltar Mts, Mann River (cows)-2 Within Junior’s herd, there was a cow who kept track of who was there and who wasn’t. If there were members of her herd missing, she would call and even go searching for, and bring them back to the main herd. It was fascinating to watch her in action.Gibraltar Mts, Mann River (cows)-3

 

Kalie watched the cows from the ground.

Kalie watched the cows from the ground.

Leika watched from the safety of the car.

Leika watched from the safety of the car.


Some heavy weather moved in on New Years Eve. In lieu of artificial fireworks, Mother Nature put on quite a display of lightning. Gibraltar Mts, Mann River (Incoming Rain)-2Gibraltar Mts, Mann River (Incoming Rain)-2-2Gibraltar Mts, Mann River-8906 They were five days of soul-settling peace and quiet. The dogs are exhausted and I’m revived. Happy 2015. That’s what I’m striving for.10884377_917861658237919_1997508126_n

 

 

 

About laurie salzler

novelist, outdoor enthusiast, animal lover, dog trainer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Out(and)Back

  1. Allison Mugnier says:

    Is it still camping if you just move into a nice hotel for a few days? And maybe sit by the pool and moo a bit? I hoped it cooled off at night. Glad to see you blogging again!

  2. Beth says:

    Your camping trip sounds like a wonderful way to welcome in the New Year. I hope you found your center and all of that which brings you joy and contentment.
    Thanks for the update on the coffee table book. As I took down your calendar from last year I was sorry that there wasn’t a new one to put up…. but…..a coffee table book will insure that I always have some of your photos close by.
    Happy New Year to a wonderful woman, talented by pen and camera.

  3. jen says:

    PERFECTION Laurie, I am thrilled that you have placed yourself somewhere where cows which you love so much are now a part of your life!!! Awesome blog and well worth the wait….AND THERE IS GOING TO BE A COFFEE TABLE BOOK!!!!! how delightful my friend!

  4. Devlyn says:

    Laurie, glad you enjoyed your camp out. I am really enjoying your photographs of this great country, you have the uncanny ability to capture the essence of the country I love so much. Happy New Year to you.

  5. kejaeck says:

    What a great trip for you. You must absolutely love living in Australia. Great blog and pictures!

Leave a Reply

