Pocket Change

Change… all by itself, it’s a simple word with the power to send terror through the hearts of many. You know what I’m talking about, right?

Blue-faced Honeyeater

But really, let’s look closer. As a noun or verb, it can have meanings such as: adapt, alter, castrate (ouch), deviate, evolve, shift, substitute, transform, veer, cash and coin.

Accompanied by a few more words, it doesn’t seem quite as threatening: Changing pattern, like a kaleidoscope; Changing in color, iridescent or opalescent, Changing-color animal as in a chameleon, and, as has become one of my favorites, “a gradual process by which something changes to a better or more complex form.

Anyway, when I set out to write this, I fluctuated between telling you about the awesome holiday I enjoyed in northern Queensland and the fact that I’m launching a new website. There is so much to share about my 2 1/2 weeks on the road and I was leaning toward that. But, I did an about-face and decided you should know that I now have a domain. So now you’ll have to edit the address to lauriesalzler.com.

What was the catalyst you may ask. Well, I wanted to diversify my site, but since I was in the middle of writing After A Time (look for a November, 2016 release), After A Time cover I didn’t want to remove myself from the flow of the story and have to learn how to do some of the things you’ll see here. I had also promised Casey & Claudia from Bedazzled Ink., to have the finished manuscript to them before Christmas. Thank the goddesses for Nikki Grimes. She’s the all powerful wizard behind the curtain who metamorphisized an okay amateur-built site to this professionally designed work of art! Go Nikki!

 

So, here’s a little about After A Time. When I initially came up with the idea about two years ago, I was on the road and desperate to log the basic outline, I ended up putting it all on the back of my auto insurance card. I had this idea to mix some historical fiction with a dash of paranormal. But as I think lot of authors will tell you, the muse sometimes reroutes the direction of a story and it took on a life of its own. What began as a lesfic romance suddenly clicked over to a young adult mainstream fiction, no lesbians, no romance, but lots of adventure. Nobody was more surprised than I. Like the photos below that have “rainbow” as the common theme (rainbow lorikeet & rainbow bee-eater are the birds), After A Time still maintains some similarities with my previous books. You’ll just have to read it to figure them out.

 

Queensland Rainbow

 

Rainbow Lorikeet

Rainbow Bee-eater

 

antappu mi’amia isn’t always bad. Especially if the wind is at your back, the sun feels warm on your face, and the waters are calm.

 

Kookaburra

Common Goose

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh, the italicised words? If you haven’t figured it out, they all mean change of some sort or another. That wasn’t so bad, now was it?

About laurie salzler

novelist, outdoor enthusiast, animal lover, wildlife carer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Pocket Change

  1. Lor Janos says:

    When someone talks about change I am always reminded of a speaker we had at our company when it was going to be going through some massive changes. They talked about how a mouse in a maze that was given several routes to the cheese would always take the same one. To this day I always compare myself to those mice when I think of change. I don’t embrace it easily, but once it’s put into action I can usually jump on the bandwagon. Glad to see you are trying other routes to the cheese.

Leave a comment